Shell Eco-Marathon Asia 2015: Students representing 18 universities pan India clear Phase I registrations

Teams representing 18 universities and technology institutes pan India had cleared first phase registrations. They are gearing up for the second phase of registrations to compete in the sixth year of Shell Eco-marathon Asia (SEM Asia), accoring to a company statement. Shell Eco-marathon challenges high school and university students from around Asia to design, build and test energy efficient vehicles. From a number of participants at SEM Asia, the winning team will have to cover the maximum distance using the least amount of energy, noted the statement.

Competition galore

Universities from the country that had cleared the first phase of registrations for SEM Asia included Sir M Visvesvaraya Institute of Technology, Bangalore; Delhi Technological University, New Delhi; Birla Institute of Technology and Science (BITS), Pilani; VIT University, Vellore; RV College of Engineering, Bangalore;  K.J.Somaiya College Of Engineering, Mumbai; Sir M Visvesvaraya Institute of Technology, Bangalore; KIIT University, Bhubaneswar; SRM University, Chennai;  Dr. B.R Ambedkar National Institute of Technology, Jalandhar;  Pandit Deendayal Petroleum University, Gandhinagar; Government Engineering College Barton Hill, Thiruvananthapuram; National Institute Of Technology, Karnataka, Surathkal, Mangalore; Indian Institute of Technology-Bombay, Mumbai; Madras Institute of Technology, Chennai; Yadavrao Tasgaonkar Institute of Engineering & Technology (YTIET), Bhivpuri, Karjat; Indian Institute of Technology – Banaras Hindu University, Varanasi and Lovely Professional University, Phagwara.

While speaking about the entries seen in this year’s registration process, Dr. Yasmine Hilton, Chairman Shell Companies, India said:, “Through Shell Eco-marathon, we are able to bring together current and future leaders on a single global platform to think about the world’s energy challenge. We are delighted to have received entries from some of the top engineering institutes of India this year and are confident of such talent will help to advance innovative energy solutions for the future.”

Concept vehicles

The teams will field Prototype and Urban Concept vehicles, powered by gasoline, diesel, electric battery and compressed natural gas (CNG).  Jeevan Renjith, team manager from Birla Institute of Technology and Science (BITS), which is putting forth a Prototype concept named ‘Eklavya’, said: “It is a huge moment for our team to clear phase I registrations for this year’s Shell Eco-marathon. We will put all our energies and hard work in the next round to make it to the final list and we hope to see our vehicle on the streets of Luneta Park in Manila.”
Vinay Bhajantri, team manager from the Indian Institute of Technology (Bombay) said: “It is inspiring to see the line-up of teams that have cleared the first round for SEM Asia so far, and this makes us keen to push ourselves for winning the competition at Manila this year.”

Registration process
The registration process for SEM Asia includes a number of rounds that challenge students to push their ideas to the limit. Interested teams submit their car designs in the form of pictures and sketches in the first round. In the second round, which is scheduled from 13th August to 8th September this year, shortlisted teams are expected to provide more technical data on their vehicle. The selection process will conclude with the final registration phase in September. These registration rounds will provide key technical information which judges will evaluate before selecting finalist teams to participate in SEM Asia 2015.

Grand Finale
The grand finale of the competition will be held in Luneta Park located at the heart of Manila, the Philippines from February 26, 2014 to March 1, 2015 providing once-in-a-lifetime opportunity for talented teams to showcase the ingenuity of their design and ideas. In the final, teams will cover tenlaps, each 1.2 kilometers long. Shell Eco-marathon Asia 2015 is being held in alliance with the Philippine Government’s Department of Tourism and the City of Manila. Private sector partners are The Linde Group, Hewlett-Packard and Michelin. For more information on all Shell Eco-marathon events across the globe, including official rules, instructions for registration and details on prizes, do visit the Shell Eco-marathon website at

Shell Eco-marathon began in 1939 at a Shell research laboratory in the US as a friendly wager between scientists to see who could get the most miles per gallon from their vehicle. The winner of that contest barely achieved 50 mpg (21 kmpl), and from these origins, a more organised competition evolved where the winning entry in Manila drove 2,730 kilometers on a litre of Ethanol in 2013. In 1985, Shell Eco-marathon as we know it today was born in France.
In April 2007, Shell Eco-marathon America event was launched in the US and in 2010, the inaugural Shell Eco-marathon Asia was held in Malaysia, where the nation hosted Shell Eco-Marathon Asia until 2013. In the following year, the event is being held in Manila. The Philippines will continue to host the event until 2016. Teams from India have been participating in the event since 2010.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s